I could go on forever

BY SARAH WHITMIRE

Going through the final edits for my story on Terry Weldon and the Soho masses, I was plagued, yet again, with the beautiful problem of too much information. Like my Dublin story on Summayah Kenna, the Irish Muslim, this piece on gay Catholics goes so much deeper than what makes the cut for the final story.

Me as a writer, I’m impossibly wordy. So couple that with Weldon’s poignant words and powerful background, plus the whole idea of having Catholic masses available for the homosexual community, and there’s a novel in the works. I’ve tried to do a decent job at reining myself in, but there’s a lot more to go into. For instance, a few things that really surprised me. Gay Catholics get more criticism from other gays than other Catholics! It’s no secret that the Vatican remains very adamant on its stance on homosexuality, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that gays would be equally adamant (if not more).

Also, the Soho masses are ordained by the Catholic diocese, but with firm expectations of no campaigning against church teaching. I’ve always perceived the Catholic church as a very black-and-white, this-or-that brand of institution, but from Weldon’s words on this subject, this is not the case. The church merely operates under the assumption that members ” live in accordance to Catholic teachings.”

To say I could go on forever applies to this story, the previous Dublin story and the entire trip itself. It would be a dream to be able to stay in Europe and report as a career, but maybe someday soon. As for now, I’m out of money, and it’s kind of nice to drive my own car on ridiculous commutes across the urban sprawl of Phoenix. Final draft of Soho mass story coming very soon!

Leave a Reply

