Reports from Home

BY ALEXANDRA FLAMINI

Our final stories weren’t due until we returned stateside. Along with the much appreciated extended deadline came some difficulties. When I came home after being overseas for a month, all I really wanted to do was relax and catch up on life back home. I was tired, jet-lagged, and unfocused. Not to mention, the European inspiration had vanished. 

I was thankful all my drafts were done when I went back to post them. A few final edits were all everything needed. I cannot imagine how difficult it would have been to come back here and try to write about the Gurudwara or capture the colors of SOHO. International last minute calls to sources would have been near impossible for me. Something about being immersed in a culture and writing about it makes you much more successful at doing so.

But with all that said, I am glad to be home lying in my own bed-bug-less sheets in the warm (or should I say boiling?) Arizona sun.

Leave a Reply

