Final Back Story

BY KRISTYNA MURPHY

It’s been more than a week since I’ve been back in the States. I was able to edit and change a few things on my final two projects, such as cutting out the end of the “Who or What Is God?” video and adding Sikh wedding photographs to the slideshow.

Now I am working on the conclusion of my final paper. I’ve been working on this paper throughout the week, and I’m still not finished. I keep moving things around, cutting things out and adding more information from my notes. Now my desk is completely covered with BBC pamphlets, notes, random papers and my media journal.

Looking back on the trip, I learned more than I ever expected. I heard from journalists who were not only knowledgeable but inspiring as well, such as Craig Copetas from Bloomberg in Paris and Robert Pigott from the BBC. I also met people who inspired me outside of journalism: Sukhpreet Singh and his wife were two of the kindest people I have ever met. And in Ireland I was able to speak with the inspiring coaches of Full Court Peace in Belfast.

Each person has a story. And I am honored that so many people I met on this trip shared a piece of their story with me. In some way or another, I think am able to take what I have learned and not only become a better journalist but a better person as well.

Leave a Reply

