Final Back Story

BY DARYL BJORAAS

Unfortunately, I think this is the last time you’ll all hear from me for a while, so I’d better make it count.

As I type this final back story, so many thoughts about Europe come rushing back and start swirling around in my head. What a wonderful and unique experience I had on this trip. I feel so much wiser on a multitude of things. I’m still in shock that it’s over. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Despite the little time I was there, I’m so thankful for all the people I met, the places I went and the food I ate (mostly Subway). They all made my life a little richer.

I’m in Arizona right now. It’s been a while since I left overseas, yet I still have work to do. I have to finish the promotional video for this trip to be shown to prospective students next year. There’s a lot of pressure on me to get this done, and I hope I can come through. It’s going to take a lot of work, but if I want an A, I’m going to have to do it.

One of the problems I’ve encountered is the intro to the video. I’m trying to inject some originality and flavor into it, but I’m having trouble getting it off the ground. Ernest Hemingway keeps popping into my head. Perhaps I should stop and listen.

Today, I finally finished my third and final package about the Gurdwara. It took some time, but it turned out nicely. I posted it not too long ago, and it already has 18 views. I spoke with Lauren earlier, and she posted it on this blog. Be sure to check it out. She also posted my second video on the Sikh-Ravidassi conflict. Speaking of which, I can’t believe how well that turned out. I have more than 1,000 views on YouTube!!!!! That alone made the trip worthwhile. It was the first package I’ve truly been proud of. I plan on showing that to my future employer some day.

One thing this trip taught me has been the usefulness of social networking. Before the trip, I never really thought about using Twitter or WordPress to advertise and express my ideas. Now, I plan on using them to get the word out about my future work. I also plan on experimenting with other social networking sites, such as Demotix and Bebo.

Thoughts on Europe probably won’t leave my mind for a while, and I’m OK with that. I’m glad to be back home in America, but I’m working on making my way back to London or Dublin. Hello, international internships!!!

One Response to Final Back Story

  1. Alexandra Flamini says:

    Daryl,
    Congratulations on your Sikh-Ravidassi video! That is so incredibly awesome that you got so many hits. It is a perfect example of how if you put the word out, people will read and watch. Maybe news organizations need to take a hint.

    Great work!!!

Leave a Reply

