Paris Reporting

Fondation Roger Fleischman

BY DARYL BJORAAS

Greetings from Paris.

Today was my first full reporting day in France. It was an interesting one as my colleagues and I visited several spots in the city. The spot that I found the most interesting and where we spent the most time was Le Marais, a section of Paris that incorporated both the gay and Jewish communities. It was very interesting seeing these two cultures live among one another. I’m from a part of the world that doesn’t have a heavy influence of these minority groups, so getting to see their interaction was eye opening. Never in my life would I have imagined a place like this.

I especially liked seeing some of the historical Jewish synagogues iand all the rabbis walking around the street. Le Marais had a very peaceful feel. An old world adapting to that of a new one, or I guess you could say a new world living among an older one. There seemed to be a mutual respect among these groups. Perhaps one of the reasons they’ve bonded is that both groups have been discriminated against.

I took some photos that I hope to incorporate into a story with Derek later this week. We’re in the process of setting up an interview on Thursday with a group that focuses on gay Jews. I think there is a story here, and I really hope I can learn more about this issue.

One Response to Paris Reporting

  1. Dr Bill Silcock says:

    I can’t wait to see how the footage turns out!

Leave a Reply

